12th Judicial District announces Mineral County Court vacancy

The Twelfth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet Feb. 26 at the Alamosa County Courthouse, to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of county judge for Mineral County. The vacancy will be created by the retirement of the Honorable Ruth Acheson. The vacancy will occur on May 1.

To be eligible, the applicant must be a qualified elector of Mineral County at the time of investiture and have graduated high school or attained the equivalent of a high school education as indicated by the Department of Education, based upon the record made on the General Education Development test. The annual salary for this position is $36,940.80, and it is a 20 percent position. The initial term of office of a county judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent county judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of four years.

Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Carlos A. Samour, Jr., 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203; and the office of the court executive, Kyle Gustafson, 719-589-4996. Applications also are available on the court’s home page at www.courts.state.co.us/Careers/Judge.cfm.

The completed application must be e-mailed to the address listed in the instructions below no later than 4 p.m. on Feb. 13. Late applications will not be considered. Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, no later than 4 p.m. on Feb. 6.

The members of the nominating commission for the 12th Judicial District are Charles Powers of Creede; John Montgomery of Del Norte; Emma Rae Martinez of La Jara; Christine Canaly of Crestone; and Aaron Miltenberger and James Valenti both of Alamosa.