Creede School District swears in new board members

Photo by Lyndsie Ferrell Greg Pearson, Jennifer Castleberry and Brittni Shambaugh-Addison were sworn-in to the Creede School District Board of Education.

CREEDE — During the regular meeting of the Creede School District Board of Education, school officials swore in three newly-elected board members Brittni Shambaugh-Addison, Jennifer Castleberry and Greg Pearson.

Board members also thanked outgoing board members Tim Bachicha, Jennifer Harbert and Dave Robinson for their service.

Shambaugh-Addison is the Education Director at Creede Repertory Theatre, a position she has held for the past four years. She was the third candidate on the November ballot and spent considerable time with local students through her program at the theatre.

She serves on the board at the Creede Early Learning Center and has a background in theatre and arts education.

Castleberry has been in the Creede area for three years and is the owner of the local Snowshoe Lodge. She was a middle school science teacher before moving to Creede and loved every minute of it.

“I was an educator in Texas, and I taught middle school science for most of my career. I was there for 23 years and ended my teaching career loving it,” she said.

Pearson has spent 16 years in Creede with his family and has students active in the district. He also serves on the Mineral County Fire Department and is looking forward to serving on the school board as well.

After the swearing in ceremony was complete, the board dove into regular business beginning with an anonymous vote for the new president of the board.

School Principal John Goss helped cast the votes and Casey Adelman was chosen as the new president and Kara Brittain as vice president.


Video News
More In Front Page